World leaders arrive at the invitation of Israel’s President for Fifth World Holocaust Forum


Some 40 heads of global leaders who accepted  Israeli President Reuven Rivlin’s invitation and are coming to Jerusalem to participate in the 5th World Holocaust Forum, Beit HaNasi has produced a special film featuring the leaders’ statements supporting the fight against antisemitism.

The film will be screened at dinner at Beit HaNasi and is based on the letters written by 44 heads of state and global leaders that are collected in a unique book.

Amon the leaders whose letters are included in the film are President of the United States Donald J Trump, who was unable to join in person, and wrote: “to those who seek the destruction of Israel and the Jewish people, I say: never again.”

President Frank-Walter Steinmeier of Germany wrote, “the Shoah… [is] a self-inflicted wound that has never entirely healed …It is not only a part of German history but also an awareness that guides us in the present day.”

HRH The Prince of Wales wrote, “We must resolve that the memory of the millions who perished …is passed down to future generations.”

President of Poland Andrej Duda, who is not participating in the events, wrote: “the memory of the Holocaust and the Second World War must be a warning sign for us and for our children.”

The film also includes the words of President Emmanuel Macron of France, who expressed his conern about the rise of antisemitism across Europe, writing “Holocaust survivors, citizens of France and of other states are being persecuted only because they are Jews.”

President Vladimir Putin of Russia called on the leaders of the world to unite in the fight against antisemitism and wrote, “We expect the world to unite their efforts in confronting these threats.”

His Holiness Pope Francis I also sent an important message about how to confront hatred, saying “We must remain firm in our efforts to advance dialog, mutual understanding and human fellowship as a basis for peace.”

List of leaders featured in the film:

President of Israel, President of Germany, President of Bosnia-Herzegovina, President of Armenia, President of Belarus, President of Lithuania, President of Iceland, President of Latvia, President of Georgia, HM King Felipe VI of Spain, Governor-General of Australia, HRH The Prince of Wales, President of Ukraine, President of Serbia, President of Poland, President of Croatia, HM King Philippe of the Belgians, Queen Margrethe II of Denmark, President of Portugal, Prime Minister of Israel, President of the European Council, President of the European Commission, President of the European Parliament, Prime Minister of Sweden, President of Austria, President of Bulgaria, Prime Minister of Norway, President of France, President of Albania, President of Greece, President of Moldova, President of Montenegro, President of Slovakia, President of North Macedonia, President of the United States, President of Italy, President of Cyprus, President of Russia, President of Romania, President of the Czech Republic, Prime Minister of Canada, President of Slovenia, President of Finland, Prime Minister of Holland, President of Hungary and HH Pope Francis I.

Read more about: ,